|Businesses in Thursby||Towns and Villages of Cumbria|
The Romans once travelled through Thursby on their way to Carlisle. Today village residents do the much the same as Thursby is very much a bedroom community for the city. The village is named after the Saxon God, Thor, who supposedly had a temple dedicated to him at Woodriggs. The hamlets of Evening Hill, Moorend, and Nealhouse are part of Thursby parish.
West of the village sits the ashlar-faced church of St Andrew, built in 1846. It was not the first church on the site, one having existed since the 7th century. The tower contains six bells. Inside the church are an old font and marble monuments of the Brisco family whose ancestral home was the Crofton Estate.
Dating from the early 13th century, the estate once covered 3000 acres. Although the estate is no longer intact and the house was demolished, the lake, walled garden, woodland, Georgian style stable block, and agricultural land remain. The University of Durham uses some of the buildings for a teaching centre and field studies.
On the estate is the Thornby Moor Dairy. Local shorthorn cows provide milk for unpasteurized cheese. Goat cheese is another of their products which visitors can purchase in the shop after viewing the cheese being made.
Thursby provides a pleasant base for travelling and walking in the area.
Photos courtesy of Graeme Dougal
Thursby is 6 miles southwest of Carlisle on the A595.
© 1997 - 2013 by The Cumbria Directory. Reproduction of this work in whole or in part, including images, and reproduction in electronic media, without documented permission from The Cumbria Directory is prohibited.